pianists selected for the second round of the Maj Lind Piano Competition

Their names are:

Michelle Candotti
Jun Hwi Cho
Kevin Chow
Bogdan Dugalic
Théotime Gillot
Hyelee Kang
Hao Wei Lin
Ke Ma
Jonathan Mak
David Munk-Nielsen
Misora Ozaki
Piotr Pawlak
Yuewen Yu
Aleksei Zaitsev

In the second round, the competitors will play the programme in the Sibelius Academy’s R-Building Concert Hall in Helsinki from 20 to 21 October 2022. The second-round programme includes a commissioned piece Tenderness composed by Outi Tarkiainen; alternatively, the competitors can choose to improvise on a theme that will be issued 20 minutes beforehand. In the second round, the pianists will also play a work by Sibelius and a programme of their choice.

Based on the second round, the competition jury will select six pianists for the finals.

In the Chamber Music Final on Sunday, the competitors will play a piano quartet with the Meta4 or the Kamus string quartet musicians. In the orchestral finals in Musiikkitalo, on 26-27 October, the pianists will play a piano concerto with the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra. The orchestra will be conducted by Anna-Maria Helsing. The finalists will be announced after the last group of the second round on Friday night, 21 October. 

The jury members are Joanna MacGregor (chair), Hieyon Choi, Kyoko Hashimoto, Björn Lehmann, Robert Levin, Cédric Pescia, Margit Rahkonen, Kalle Randalu and Rene Shereshevskaya.


Second Round / Sibelius Academy’s R-Building Concert Hall, Pohj. Rautatiekatu 9

Thu 20 October, Group 1 from 10 to 13.30 / Group 2 from 17:00 to 17–21.30
Fri 21 October, Group 3 from 10 to 3.30 / Group 4 from 17 to 21:30 — Finalists will be announced

Chamber Music Final / Sibelius Academy’s R-Building Concert Hall, Pohj. Rautatiekatu 9

Sun 23 October from 16 to 19.30

Orchestral Finals / Musiikkitalo

Wed 26 October from 19 to 21.30
Thu 27 October from 19 to 21.30 — Results and awards

Performance order

Click for the Performance order and schedule

More news

comissioned work by Outi Tarkiainen

The commissioned work for the competition was composed by Outi Tarkiainen. Competitors may, in the second round, alternatively improvise on a theme. The theme is issued 20 minutes before performance.

Scroll to Top