Old jury

Ralf Gothóni has a varied career as a solo pianist, chamber musician and conductor all over the world. He became well-known for his unconventional way of music-making, not only as a pianist, but also as a musician with unusual thoughts about music and the holistic nature of musicianship. He has held professorships at several important music universities in Europe. From 2006 to 2013 he was head of the piano chamber music department at the Escuela Reina Sofia in Madrid.


Ewa Kupiec won the ARD Music Competition (category duo piano/cello) in 1992. She performs regularly at the world’s leading festivals and with major orchestras worldwide. Kupiec is a dedicated interpreter of contemporary music. Her Berlin Konzerthaus performance in 2005 of Schnittke’s First Piano Concerto with the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra was the first performance of this work since 1964. In 2005 a CD “Conception” with works by Randall Meyers and Antonio Bibalo was released. Since autumn 2011, Kupiec has been a professor of piano at the Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover.


Since his debut with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic in 1981, Roland Pöntinen has performed with major orchestras throughout the world. He is also active as a composer and his Blue Winter was performed by the Philadelphia Orchestra at Carnegie Hall in 1998. Pöntinen is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Music and in 2001 he received the Litteris et Artibus – a royal medal for recognition of eminent skills in the artistic field.


The career of Janina Fialkowska was launched in 1974, when the legendary Arthur Rubinstein became her mentor after her prize-winning performance at the inaugural Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Competition. Fialkowska passes on her wide musical experience in masterclasses and at her annual “International Piano Academy” in Bavaria and makes frequent appearances as a juror at the world’s most prestigious piano competitions.


Vietnamese-born Dang Thai Son was the first Asian pianist to win the International Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw (in 1980). Since then, his international career has taken him to over forty countries and world-renowned halls. Dang Thai Son frequently gives masterclasses and sits on the juries of prestigious competitions around the world.


Dina Yoffe is a prize-winner of many competitions, including the Robert Schumann International Competition in Zwickau in 1974 and the prestigious Fryderyk Chopin Competition in Warsaw in 1975. Today she is internationally active as a pedagogue and a concert pianist. She also serves as a juror at international competitions. Yoffe is an honorary member of the Japan Piano Teachers Association, and Artistic Director of the Festival and Masterclasses “Musical Summer in Malaga” in Spain.


Winner of the First International Maj Lind Piano Competition in 2002, Alberto Nosè has won prizes at prestigious international piano competitions. These prizes have helped him to an intense concert career at the world’s major concert halls. He is regularly invited to serve as a jury member in important international piano competitions, such as the 2010 Fryderyk Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw. Nosè is piano professor at the Accademia Amadeus in Valeggio sul Mincio.


CHAIRMAN OF THE JURY Dmitri Bashkirov was born in Tbilisi. He has been a prominent performer since his career was launched as winner of the 1956 Grand Prix at the Marguerite Long Competition in Paris. Professor Bashkirov was a student of the legendary Alexander Goldenweiser. He holds a professorship at the Tchaikovsky Conservatory and the Escuela Superior de Musica Reina Sofia in Madrid. He gives masterclasses and serves as a juror at leading international piano competitions worldwide. Many of his former students are now well-known artists touring the world. He has received an honorary doctorate from the Sibelius Academy.

Scroll to Top